Double Chocolate Zucchini Cupcakes

So if you know me, you know I that I have baked quite a few unhealthy, super delish, sugary, buttery, rich, moist, chocolatey, oreo crushed… cupcakes. That’s just one of my many hobbies.. helping out at parties by bringing some desserts. Now, I try my best to eat healthy on a regular basis but I am also known to test my own new recipes. For some reason, when I make something unhealthy, I tend not to eat it. Not because I know what has gone into it or that I don’t like my own creations, but if I try every single one, I just wouldn’t feel good on a regular basis haha. Honestly though, I get “over it” after a while. I make my ride or die recipes, that I know are always going to turn out, and people enjoy them so I stick with them and pull them out based on the occasion but then I don’t need to try them every single time. I have too many times before 🙂 Does that ruin baking for me? Does that ruin desserts for me? Nope! It just means I have to find creative new recipes to test and try out, and lately, I’ve been doing that with healthy creations. Taking some of my ride or die recipes, doing some “Healthified” tweaks and going with it. So here is one of those.. and I know, I know, chocolate again! But I just cannot help myself! I need that fix every so often and for some reason, it is my automatic go-to for recipe tasting! Now don’t be fooled by the name.. this WILL NOT taste like a cupcake, so please don’t picture a sugary sweet devil’s food cake… but it will taste like a healthier cupcake… cause that’s exactly what it is! Now, I also call them muffins, because they have a good consistency like a muffin and to be honest, you could easily enjoy these without any frosting and they’re equally good.. but in true Cash fashion, I’ve added frosting to jazz it up a bit!
(Nutrition facts at the bottom of the post)

IMG_4830.JPG

Cash Creations: “Healthified” Double Chocolate Zucchini Cupcakes

Prep Time: 20 mins

Cook Time: 30 mins
Creation: 10 mins
Total Time out of your life: 1 hour 
NEED: Cupcake Pan
Makes: Approx 10 cupcakes
Ingredients

Muffins:

Chocolate Zucchini Muffins 

  • 1/2 cup coconut palm sugar
  • 2 tablespoons semi-melted coconut oil (pop in microwave for 40 secs if solid)
  • 1 tbsp xylitol
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp of egg white
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup plain 2% Greek yogurt
  • ÂĽ maple syrup
  • 1 cup shredded zucchini (squeeze out excess liquid)
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1 cup oat flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • Optional: Top with 1 tbsp hemp hearts
ICING:

Chocolate Sweet Potato Frosting

  • 1 medium cooked/steamed sweet potato
  • ÂĽ cup cacoa powder
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • ÂĽ cup almond milk
  • 2 TBSP almond flour
  • ÂĽ teaspoon salt
  • 1 TSBP xylitol

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line cupcake pan with foil baking cups (paper cups will stick, trust me!)
  2. In a large bowl sift together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt- Set aside
    IMG_4630.JPG
  3. Using a stand mixer (or a bowl & and a hand held mixer) beat coconut palm sugar, xylitol and coconut oil until completely combined.
  4. Add in the egg and egg white and beat again until combined.
  5. Toss in the Greek yogurt, maple syrup & vanilla extract and beat until combined
  6. Fold in the zucchini until it is fully combined.
  7. Pour in a 1/2 of the flour mixture and beat until just combined, then pour in half of the milk beating again until just combined. Repeat, ensuring that you’re scraping down the sides of your bowl to fully incorporate all of the ingredients.
    IMG_4657.JPG
  8. Scoop your batter into the cupcake liners, approx 3/4 full.
  9. Top off with some hemp hearts for added “healthified” love **some people don’t enjoy the strong taste, so if you don’t mind it, add more 🙂
  10. Place the cupcake pan in your preheated oven and bake for approx. 15-17 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  11. Allow your cupcakes to cool on a wire rack and wait anxiously to frost them!
    IMG_4681

IMG_4702

Frosting!

  1. Using your pre-cooked chunks of sweet potato, place in a really good blender or food processor. Blend until broken down, and almost smooth.
  2. Add in your cacao, coconut oil, maple syrup, almond milk, almond flour, salt and xylitol and blend until completely smooth**
  3. Once cupcakes are cooled, scoop icing into a piping bag with a piping tip or spread onto the cupcake with a spatula
  4. Optional: If you want to jazz it up a bit.. add some cute sprinkles. A little sprinkle never hurt anyone, am I right?
  5. Store in an air tight container in the fridge – max 3-4 days .. if they can last that long. I haven’t tried freezing them but if you think you might have to, don’t ice some of the muffins and freeze without the frosting! Left over frosting can be eaten as pudding… just sayin’

**Icing Consistency, if it is:

  • Too thick: add more almond milk
  • Too thin: add more cacoa or almond flour (may need to then add a bit more maple syrup for taste)

IMG_4828.JPG

ENJOY!

Cash Creations xo

Nutrition Facts based on the chocolate cupcake including icing!

Nutrition Facts
Servings 10.0
Amount Per Serving
calories 226
% Daily Value *
Total Fat 7 g 10 %
Saturated Fat 3 g 15 %
Monounsaturated Fat 0 g
Polyunsaturated Fat 0 g
Trans Fat 0 g
Cholesterol 19 mg 6 %
Sodium 186 mg 8 %
Potassium 296 mg 8 %
Total Carbohydrate 41 g 14 %
Dietary Fiber 5 g 21 %
Sugars 17 g
Protein 6 g 12 %
Vitamin A 2 %
Vitamin C 6 %
Calcium 6 %
Iron 9 %
* The Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet, so your values may change depending on your calorie needs. The values here may not be 100% accurate because the recipes have not been professionally evaluated nor have they been evaluated by the U.S. FDA.
Leave a Reply

