Chocolate “Caramel” Hearts

It should be no surprise that I am posting another chocolate recipe.. get used to it 🙂 I made these for Valentine’s Day for my boy, and I think I ended up eating most of them to be honest! I’m sure he didn’t mind….
I could eat a few squares of dark chocolate and feel satisfied ( I mean I aim to just have one and then sometimes it leads to two.. and so on.. and so forth). Now, don’t get me wrong, that happens with these as well.. but something about the fact that you have put some effort into making these delish chocolate treats, makes you hold off devouring them and eat them with a little more care. I mean, who am I kidding, I still popped about five in my mouth to “test” them out before giving them to him. But that is besides the point.. these are quick, easy, little treats that make for a cute little “Healthified” snack.

Chocolate “Caramel” Hearts
Prep time: 15 minutes
Freeze Time: 20-30 Minutes
Serves: Roughly Three Heart Trays worth

Ingredients:

Chocolate:
1 Cup Dark Chocolate
1 Tsp Coconut Oil

“Caramel” Centre**:
10 Dates
1/4 Cup Raw Almond Butter (Drippy)
1/4 Cup Coconut Oil
1/4 Maple Syrup (or other liquid sweetener)
1 tsp Vanilla

** Also referred to as Date Caramel. I don’t usually measure too much, I like to wing it but I did pay more attention to this one for the purpose of this post. Now, the date caramel recipe will likely yield much more than you will need for these hearts so I highly suggest you save the remainder, either eat it out of the container as needed, use it as a nice fruit dip or make more “healthified” cash creations with it.. I will be posting more “caramel” recipes soon that would be perfect for the remainder. Overall, I think it’s always nice to have a bit of date caramel on hand.**

DIRECTIONS:

I purchased the silicon heart trays from Kitchen Stuff Plus around Valentine’s Day, but I am pretty sure you can find them online from many different places all year round. Only complaint.. I wish the hearts were bigger.. aka more chocolate and more filling…and less justification for large quantities consumed 🙂

IMG_1912

Now I like to fill as many as possible, so I just melt a bunch of dark chocolate chips and a bit of coconut oil to make it smooth, and I don’t really measure. But I did for the purpose of this post. Any remaining chocolate I usually throw Kamut Puffs into, make round balls and toss them in the freezer for another dessert, another day 🙂

  1. Make a layer of chocolate in each silicon heart ❤ and then toss in the freezer for 10 minutes to solidify. Usually by the time I am done the third tray, the first is ready to come out.

2. Take the hardened chocolate tray out of the freezer and put a small scoop of date caramel sauce in the middle of each. Pop it back in the freezer for five more minutes.

3. Use the rest of your melted chocolate to cover the caramel and finish off the heart chocolates. Put the trays back in the freezer for ten more minutes or until the hearts are seem solid.

4. Once they seem solid, you can pop each of the hearts out of the tray and store in a container in the freezer. Mine are usually gone within two weeks, so I’d say that should be a good amount of time to keep them around.. if you can 🙂

Enjoy!
Cash Creations
xo

Leave a Reply

